Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dentistry -- Resources for the School of Dentistry (UWISTA): Databases

Dentistry -- Specialized Database

DENTISTRY & ORAL SCIENCES SOURCE

DENTISTRY & ORAL SCIENCE SOURCE    

This database covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.

Databases -- Popular and Heavily Used

                

            BBO - BIREME                                       UPTODATE                                MEDLINE (EBSCO)

 

                             

      CONSUMER HEALTH                                     PUBMED                                        MICROMEDEX  

Database Summary

BBO - BIREME  

A Brazilian bibliographic database on Dentistry.

CONSUMER HEALTH- PROQUEST    

This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.

DENTISTRY & ORAL SCIENCE SOURCE    

This database covers all facets relating to the areas of dentistry including dental public health, endodontics, facial pain & surgery, odontology, oral & maxillofacial pathology/surgery/radiology, orthodontology, pediatric dentistry, periodontology, and prosthodontics. The database is updated weekly on EBSCOhost.

MEDLINE (EBSCO)    

This National Library of Medicine bibliographic online database provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.

MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series    

The MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series of databases is primarily a drug information system and is considered one of the most authoritative resources available.The databases available includes the following: DRUGDEX, DRUG-REAX and Martindale.

PUBMED - NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE  

A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

UPTODATE    

UpToDate is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 4,800 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Supported by UpToDate's 45 in-house physician editors, these authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence.

 

FIND  A  MEDICAL  SCIENCES  DATABASE
Accessing e-Resources Guide: Connect From Off-Campus

 

Databases at UWI St. Augustine -- other subject guides