Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Literatures in English: Citing 101

Guide created by Cherry- Ann Smart (2017)

Citation Managers

 

 

Citation managers are software packages used to create personalized databases of citation information and notes. They allow you to:

  • import and organise citation information from article indexes and other sources
  • save links to pdfs and other documents, and in some cases save the document itself
  • format citations for your papers and bibliographies using MLA and many other styles
  • include your own notes

If you are interested in understanding how these work then contact me or the Library's Mona Information Literacy Unit (MILU).

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 8th ed.

MLA 8th Edition - Citing Sources - Research Guides at Sonoma State  University

Available at Mona, Main Library, Course Reserve Book (LB2369.G53 2018)

MLA Style

MLA is the citation style commonly used for Literatures in English.  The MLA is available in electronic format with purchase of a new copy of the seventh edition. The website provides some FAQs which might answer some of your questions even if you do not have full acess.  Additionally, you can google questions for MLA.

Two excellent online sources for MLA are Research and Documentation online and The Everyday Writer.

The MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers, 7th edition, is available in print format from the Reserve Book Collection (RBC) of the Library.  Note that the 8th edition is now released and will become the LATEST edition as soon as the Library purchases copies.

MLA typically uses in-text parenthetical citations with a list of works cited, however if your instructor asks you to use footnotes or endnotes, see Appendix B of the MLA Handbook.

Plagiarism

The University of the West Indies's statement on PLAGIARISM

“Plagiarism is defined as the unacknowledged use of the words, ideas or creations of another. The principal categories of unacknowledged use are unacknowledged quotation, which is failure to credit quotations of another person’s spoken or written words; and unattributed borrowing, which is failure to credit another unattributed borrowing, which is failure to credit another person’s ideas, opinions, theories, graphs or diagrams.Unattributed borrowing also includes the failure to credit another person’s work when paraphrasing from that work.”