Optometry -- Open Access Resources for the Optometry Programme (UWISTA): Miscellaneous Open and Free eBooks on the Internet

GENERAL OPTOMETRY/ OPHTHALMOLOGY 

 

Neuro-ophthalmology

• Neuro-Ophthalmology: Clinical Signs and Symptoms (Cybersight)
  • Walsh, T. J. (1998). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/neuro-ophthalmology-clinical-signs-and-symptoms/

Ophthalmology

• Advances in Ophthalmology (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Rumelt, S. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/advances-in-ophthalmology
• Frontiers in Ophthalmology and Ocular Imaging (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Ziaei, A. (Ed.). (2019). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/frontiers-in-ophthalmology-and-ocular-imaging
• Making Eye Health a Population Health Imperative: Vision for Tomorrow (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Teutsch, S. M., McCoy, M. A., & Woodbury, R. B. (Eds.). (2016). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK385157/
• Ophthalmology: Current Clinical and Research Updates (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Davey, P. (Ed.). (2014). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/ophthalmology-current-clinical-and-research-updates
• OphthoBook (Tim Root, Virtual Eye Professor)
  • Root, T. (2009). Retrieved from https://timroot.com/ophthobook/

Reference

• Chinese-English Ophthalmology Dictionary (Cybersight)
  • Teng, C. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/chinese-english-ophthalmology-dictionary

 

ANATOMY, EXAMINATION, IMAGING

 

Anatomy and Physiology

• The Ocular Circulation (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Kiel, J. W. (2010). Retrieved from http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK53323/

Examination and Testing

• Vision and Refraction (booklet) (Cybersight)
  • Helveston, E. M., Molinari, A., Subrayan, V., & Chawla, R. (2014). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/vision-refraction-manual/
• Vision Screening Handbook for School Teachers (Cybersight)
  • Orbis International. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/vision-screening-handbook-for-school-teachers/

Optics and Imaging Tools

• OCT: Applications in Ophthalmology (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Lanza, M. (Ed.). (2018). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/oct-applications-in-ophthalmology
• Optical Coherence Tomography (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Kawasaki, M. (Ed.). (2013). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/optical-coherence-tomography
• Selected Topics in Optical Coherence Tomography (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Liu, G. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/selected-topics-in-optical-coherence-tomography

 

DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS/EYE INFECTIONS/DISEASES /TRAUMA

 

Differential Diagnosis and Systemic Disease

• Ocular Differential Diagnosis, 8th ed. (Cybersight)
  • Roy, F. H. (2007). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/ocular-differential-diagnosis/
• Ocular Syndromes and Systemic Diseases, 4th ed. (Cybersight)
  • Roy, F. H. (2007). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/ocular-syndromes-and-systemic-diseases/

Eye Infections and Diseases

• Advances in Common Eye Infections (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Rumelt, S. (Ed.). (2016). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/advances-in-common-eye-infections
• Conjunctivitis: A Complex and Multifaceted Disorder (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Pelikan, Z. (Ed.). (2011). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/conjunctivitis-a-complex-and-multifaceted-disorder
• The Merck Manual: Eye Disorders (Merck)
  • Merck & Co., Inc. (2019). Retrieved from https://www.merckmanuals.com/professional/eye_disorders.html
• Ocular Diseases (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Adio, A. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/ocular-diseases
• Optic Nerve (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Ferreri, F. M. (Ed.). (2019). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/optic-nerve

Trauma

• Visual Dysfunction in Patients with Traumatic Brain Injury: A Systemic Review (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • O'Neil, M., Gleitsmann, K., Motu'apuaka, M., et al. (2014). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK293882/

 

LOW VISION, PERCEPTION, REFRACTIVE ERRORS

 

Low Vision

• Screening for Visual Impairment in Children Ages 1-5 Years (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Chou, R., Dana, T., & Bougatsos, C. (2011). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK52708/
• Screening for Visual Impairment in Older Adults (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Chou, R., Dana, T., & Bougatsos, C. (2009). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK35192/
• Visual Impairments: Determining Eligibility for Social Security Benefits (National Academies Press)
  • Lennie, P., & Van Hemel, S. B. (2002). Retrieved from https://www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=10320

Perception

• The Joy of Visual Perception: A Web Book (York University)
  • Kaiser, P. K. (1996). Retrieved from https://www.yorku.ca/eye/thejoy.htm

Refractive Errors

• Astigmatism: Optics, Physiology and Management (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Goggin, M. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/astigmatism-optics-physiology-and-management

• Updates on Myopia: A Clinical Perspective (SpringerLink)
  • Ang, M., & Wong, T. Y. (Ed.). (2020). Retrieved from https://link.springer.com/content/pdf/10.1007%2F978-981-13-8491-2.pdf

 

GLAUCOMA, STRABISMUS

Glaucoma

• Assessing and Treating Glaucoma in Children of the Developing World (booklet) (Cybersight)
  • Douglas, G. R., Levin, A., Neely, D. E., & Walton, D. S. (2014). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/assessing-and-treating-glaucoma-in-children-of-the-developing-world/
• Automated Imaging Technologies for the Diagnosis of Glaucoma: A Comparative Diagnostic Study for the Evaluation of the Diagnostic Accuracy, Performance as Triage Tests and Cost-Effectiveness (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Azuara-Blanco, A., Banister, K., Boachie, C., et al. (2016). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK338828/
• Glaucoma: Basic and Clinical Aspects (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Rumelt, S. (Ed.). (2013). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/glaucoma-basic-and-clinical-aspects
• Glaucoma: Basic and Clinical Concepts (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Rumelt, S. (Ed.). (2011). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/glaucoma-basic-and-clinical-concepts
• Glaucoma: Current Clinical and Research Aspects (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Davey, P. (Ed.). (2011). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/glaucoma-current-clinical-and-research-aspects
• Glaucoma: Diagnosis and Management of Chronic Open Angle Glaucoma and Ocular Hypertension (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • National Collaborating Centre for Acute Care (UK). (2009). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK61894/
• Glaucoma: Intraocular Pressure and Aqueous Dynamics (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Ichhpujani, P. (Ed.). (2016). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/glaucoma-intraocular-pressure-and-aqueous-dynamics
• The Mystery of Glaucoma (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Kubena, T. (Ed.). (2011). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/the-mystery-of-glaucoma
• Primary Care Screening for Ocular Hypertension and Primary Open-Angle Glaucoma (NCBI Bookshelf) 
  • Fleming, C., Whitlock, E., Beil, T., & Smit, B. (2005). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK42905/
• Screening for Glaucoma: Comparative Effectiveness (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Ervin, A. M., Boland, M. V., Myrowitz, E. H., et al. (2012). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK95371/
• Surveillance for Ocular Hypertension: An Evidence Synthesis and Economic Evaluation (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Burr, J. M., Botello-Pinzon, P., Takwoingi, Y., et al. (2012). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK100061/
• Treatment for Glaucoma: Comparative Effectiveness (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Boland, M. V., Ervin, A. M., Friedman, D., et al. (2012). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK95391/

 

Pediatrics and Strabismus

• Binocular Vision and Ocular Motility: Theory and Management of Strabismus (Cybersight)
  • von Noorden, G. K., & Campos, E. C. (2002). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/textbook-von-noorden-campos-2002/
• Clinical Approach to Ocular Motility: Characteristics and Orthoptic Mangement of Strabismus, 2nd ed. (Open.Michigan)
  • Iacobucci, I.L. (2015). Retrieved from https://open.umich.edu/find/open-educational-resources/medical/clinical-approach-ocular-motility-characteristics-orthoptic-management-strabismus-second-edition#texts
• Strabismus: A Decision Making Approach (Cybersight); available in English and Chinese
  • von Noorden, G. K., & Helveston, E. M. (2010). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/strabismus-a-decision-making-approach/

CORNEA, RETINA, UVEA

Cornea

• Introduction to Eye Banking: A Handbook and Manual (Cybersight)
  • Rosenwasser, G. O., & Nicholson, W. J. (2003). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/introduction-to-eye-banking-a-handbook-and-atlas/
• Keratitis (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Srinivasan, M. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/keratitis
• Keratoplasties: Surgical Techniques and Complications (IntechOpen): peer-reviewed
  • Mosca, L. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/keratoplasties-surgical-techniques-and-complications

Retina

• Age-Related Macular Degeneration: Etiology, Diagnosis and management—A Glance at the Future (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Lo Guidice, G. (Ed.). (2013). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/age-related-macular-degeneration-etiology-diagnosis-and-management-a-glance-at-the-future
• Age Related Macular Degeneration: The Recent Advances in Basic Research and Clinical Care (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Ying, G.-S. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/age-related-macular-degeneration-the-recent-advances-in-basic-research-and-clinical-care
• Diabetic Retinopathy (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Ola, M. S. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/diabetic-retinopathy
• Early Events in Diabetic Retinopathy and Intervention Strategies (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Tsin, A., & Grigsby, J. (Eds.). (2018). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/early-events-in-diabetic-retinopathy-and-intervention-strategies
• Electroretinograms (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Belusic, G. (Ed.). (2011). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/electroretinograms
• Nutritional Supplements for Age-Related Macular Degeneration: A Systematic Review (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Kansagara, D., Gleitsmann, K., Gillingham, M., Freeman, M., & Quiñones, A. (2012). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK84269/
• The Organization of the Retina and Visual System (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Kolb, H., Fernandez, E., & Nelson, R. (2018). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK11530/
• Retinoblastoma: An Update on Clinical, Genetic Counseling, Epidemiology and Molecular Tumor Biology (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Kumaramanickavel, G. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/retinoblastoma-an-update-on-clinical-genetic-counseling-epidemiology-and-molecular-tumor-biology
• The Retinoscopy Book: An Introductory Manual for Eye Care Professionals (Cybersight)
  • Corboy, J. M., Norath, D., Stone, R., & Reffner, R. (2003). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/the-retinoscopy-book-an-introductory-manual-for-eye-care-professionals/
• Retinoscopy Handbook for Clinicians (manual) (Cybersight)
  • Wassnig, S. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://cybersight.org/portfolio/manual-retinoscopy-handbook-for-clinicians/
• A Systematic Review of Intravitreal Bevacizumab for the Treatment of Diabetic Macular Edema (NCBI Bookshelf)
  • Fortin, P., Mintzes, B., & Innes, M. (2012). Retrieved from https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK169472
• Vitrectomy (IntechOpen)​; peer-reviewed
  • Song, Z. (Ed.). (2012). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/vitrectomy

Uvea

• Advances in the Diagnosis and Management of Uveitis (IntechOpen); peer-reviewed
  • Rodriguez-Garcia, A., & Foster, C. S. (Eds.). (2019). Retrieved from https://www.intechopen.com/books/advances-in-the-diagnosis-and-management-of-uveitis