Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

COVID-19: The Alma Jordan Library's Resources & Services (STA): Home

This guide offers up-to-date information on the resources and services as offered by The Alma Jordan Library (AJL) during the COVID-19 global health crisis.
A Model of the Library Before Construction of the First Extension
Construction of the Library (1969-1970)
The Original Library on the Quadrangle at Night (1960-1983)
After the First Extension (1983-1994)
The Main Library at St. Augustine (1995-Present)

Highlights

AJL - Study Room Bookings - Apr 2022 Flyer

Study Room Bookings

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

 (.pdf | .png)

evised AJL Electronic Device Loans  Return Deadline Flyer - April 2022

Tablet Device Returns (Deadline May 20th 2022)

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

(.pdf | .png)

Revised AJL Electronic Device Loans  Return Deadline Flyer - April 2022

MiFi Device Returns (Deadline May 20th 2022)

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

(.pdf | .png)

AJL New Pick Up - Returns Service Location - March 2022 Flyer

 New Pick-up & Returns Service Location

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

 (.pdf | .png)

Book Request, Pick-up & Returns Service - March 2022 Flyer

Book Request, Pick-up & Returns Service

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

 (.pdf | .png)

Mifi Device Loans - March 2022 Flyer

MiFi Device Loans

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

(.pdf | .png)

Tablet Device Loans - March 2022 Flyer

Tablet Device Loans

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

(.pdf | .png)

AJL Amnesty Flyer

End of Fines Amnesty

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

(.pdf | .png)

AJL Verification & Payment Options

Verifying & Paying Your Fines 

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

 (.pdf | .png)

Library (Caution Money) Clearance

Library Clearance (Caution Money)

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

(.pdf | .png)

UWIlinC - New User Interface (NUI) - May 2021

New UWIlinC Interface

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

(post link)

Databases

Databases

Click image above or links below to enlarge.

(page link)

Databases (Screenshot)

Databases

Click image above to enlarge.

(page link)

E-books

Click image above to enlarge.

(page link)

E-books (Screenshot)

E-books

Click image above to enlarge.

(page link)

Research Guides

Research Guides

Click image above to enlarge.

(page link)

Resources & Services

On | Off Campus Services

The Alma Jordan Library generally remains closed to staff (non-AJL), students, and visitors, except for our Pick-up & Returns Services, and the West Indiana and Special Collections Division (by appointment).

“Ask Us” online chat service for Semester II, Academic Year 2021/22 has resumed. For more information check out the Ask Us tab on this page.

Book, MiFi, and Tablet Device Loans for Semester II, Academic Year 2021/22 have resumed. For more information, check out the Service Location; Borrowing | Lending; Returns | Fines; MiFi Device Loans | Returns | Fines; Tablet Device Loans | Returns | Fines tabs on this page. Note: The pick-up/returns location has now changed to The Alma Jordan Library

Study Room Bookings for Semester II, Academic Year 2021/22 have resumed. For more information, check out the the Study Room Bookings tab on this page.

Do be assured that the Library's team is working on-site and remotely to support your teaching, learning, and research needs. You may continue to send your book and electronic device loans queries to us via email at CAS@sta.uwi.edu and a member of the Library's team will respond. 

You are encouraged to take full advantage of the Library’s wealth of online resources, Ask a Librarian (live chat/email) service, FAQs, and other electronic services.

Kindly periodically monitor the Library’s website, COVID-19 Resources & Services Guide, and Facebook page for updates on our remote resources and services.

Service Location

Note: The pick-up/returns location has now changed to The Alma Jordan Library


AJL New Pick Up - Returns Service Location - March 2022 Flyer

To view a .pdf version (i.e. clickable) of this flyer, please click here.


Useful Links

Borrowing | Lending (Book Loans)

The AJL's Request & Pick Up Service (Book Loans) for Semester II, Academic Year 2021/22 resumed on Tuesday 18 January, 2022.

Note: The pick-up location has now changed to The Alma Jordan Library


AJL Request - Pick-up - Return Service - March 2022 Flyer

To view a .pdf version (i.e. clickable) of this flyer, please click here.

Returns | Fines (Book Loans)

Note: The returns location has now changed to The Alma Jordan Library

Please click on a link to jump to the relevant section: Returns | Fines


Returns

Refer to the following flyer (see Return Point information).

AJL Request - Pick-up - Return Service - March 2022 Flyer

To view a .pdf version (i.e. clickable) of this flyer, please click here.


 Fines

  • End of Fines Amnesty (.pdf | .png)
  • Verifying & Paying Your Fines (.pdf | .png)

MiFi Device Loans | Returns | Fines

Note: The pick-up/returns location has now changed to The Alma Jordan Library. The deadline for the return of all MiFi devices is May 20th, 2022.

Please refer to relevant section: MiFi Device Loans | MiFi Device ReturnsMiFi Device Fines


MiFi Device Loans

Refer to the following flyer (see Electronic Device Loan Guidelines; Pick Up & Return Point information).

AJL Electronic Device Loans - March 2022 Flyer

To view a .pdf version (i.e. clickable) of this flyer, please click here.


 MiFi Device Returns

Revised AJL Electronic Device Loans  Return Deadline Flyer - April 2022

To view a .pdf version (i.e. clickable) of this flyer, please click here.


MiFi Device Fines

Refer to the above flyer (see Fine details listed under Electronic Device Loan Guidelines).

See also:

Tablet Device Loans | Returns | Fines

The AJL's Tablet Device Loans Service for Semester II, Academic Year 2021/22 resumed on Tuesday 18 January, 2022.

Note: The pick-up/returns location has now changed to The Alma Jordan Library. The deadline for the return of all tablets is May 20th, 2022.

Please refer to the relevant section: Tablet Device Loans | Tablet Device Returns Tablet Device Fines


Tablet Device Loans & Returns

Refer to the following flyer (see Electronic Device Loan Guidelines, Pick Up & Return Point information).

AJL Electronic Device Loans - March 2022 Flyer

To view a .pdf version (i.e. clickable) of this flyer, please click here.


 Tablet Device Returns

AJL Revised AJL Electronic Device Loans Return Deadline Flyer - April 2022

To view a .pdf version (i.e. clickable) of this flyer, please click here.


Tablet Device Fines

Refer to the above flyer (see Fine details listed under Electronic Device Loan Guidelines).

See also:

  • End of Fines Amnesty (.pdf | .png)
  • Verifying & Paying Your Fines (.pdf | .png)

As of Tuesday April 5, 2022, The Alma Jordan Library (AJL) Study Room (Ground Floor) is accessible to currently registered UWI, St. Augustine Campus students, by pre-booking.

Note: This is a large room that will be shared with multiple persons, for individual, quiet study.


AJL Study Room Flyer - April 2022

To view a .pdf version (i.e. clickable) of this flyer, please click here.


Useful Links

Library Clearance (Caution Money)

Library Clearance (Caution Money)

To view a .pdf version (i.e. clickable) of this flyer, please click here.

Locate Items

The AJL provides off-campus access to thousands of full-text electronic books, journals and more. 

If you are in need of assistance with locating materials, do:

Locate More

As our on-site collections are currently not accessible, do also consider alternative, complementary resources (e.g. subscribed databases with enhanced content, free or open-access sources). The following research guides may be of interest:

If you are in need of assistance with locating materials, do:

West Indiana | Special Collections

Persons with queries (and/or interested in appointments to visit) are encouraged to contact West Indiana and Special Collections (WISC) Division by telephone +1(868) 662-2002 Ext. 83506, 84244, or email at wimail@sta.uwi.edu.


Useful links:

Theses

Please click on a link to jump to the relevant section: Accessing UWI Theses | Thesis-Checking


Accessing UWI Theses

Refer to the guidance provided here: Caribbean Research Databases: UWI Theses


Thesis-Checking

The Library scrutinises postgraduate theses to ensure that students comply with the requirements (format and arrangement) of The University's Thesis Guide (2015) and conform to the designated (by Faculty) Style Manual. These consultations will be offered by the Divisional Librarians using a range of web-based tools, but not limited to: e-mail, Google Chat/Meet, Skype and Zoom.

To request a thesis consultation, do:

Research Assistance

If you are in need of individual assistance with locating materials, do:

Consultations | Instructional Sessions

Please click on a link to jump to the relevant section: Consultations Instructional Sessions


Consultations

For more detailed queries, students and faculty may request individual appointments with the Divisional Librarians. Appointments will be offered in a range of web-based tools inclusive of, but not limited to: Blackboard Collaborate, Google Meet, Skype, and Zoom. To request an appointment, do:


Instructional Sessions

For guidance on locating, using and evaluating general and subject-specific information resources, students and faculty may request group instructional sessions with the Divisional Librarians. Sessions will be offered in a range of web-based tools inclusive of, but not limited to: Blackboard Collaborate, Google Meet, Skype, and Zoom. To request a session, do:

Ask Us (Ask A Librarian/LibChat)

The Alma Jordan Library's “Ask Us” online chat service resumed on Monday 17 January, 2022.

The service is available Monday – Thursday 10:00 a.m. 8:00 p.m. and Fridays 10:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m. during the semester.

This service provides users with immediate responses to questions as they engage in real-time with a library staff member. In addition to the chat service, users can find answers to their Frequently Asked Questions at https://uwi-sta.libanswers.com/

 

Ask Us (Frequently Asked Questions)

Credit

Banner Images:

History of The Alma Jordan Library -- Selected Milestones

https://libraries.sta.uwi.edu/ajl/index.php/about-the-library/history

              Like Us on Facebook -- The Alma Jordan Library at the UWI St. Augustine