This is the "Caribbean Research Databases" page of the "Caribbean Research Databases" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Caribbean Research Databases   Tags: caribbean, databases, west indian  

Databases which have primarily Caribbean content including subscription and open access resources
Last Updated: Oct 1, 2013 URL: http://libguides.uwi.edu/CaribbeanResearchDatabases Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Caribbean Research Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Discover Caribbean Information

 

Overview

Many of the databases accessible through the Alma Jordan Library platform provide information about the Caribbean. This resource highlights the databases which have primarily Caribbean content. Many of these listed here are not available through UWILinC, the Library's search engine. Thus patrons are encourage to explore these resources individually.

To perform integrated searches of all other UWI subscribed databases and the library holdings of all the UWI Campus Libraries, please use the UWIlinC search interface.

 

 

Inhouse Databases

Calendar Database

A database of informative calendars produced in the Caribbean. 

 

Caribbean Studies Database

A database of student projects which were completed in the final year of B.A. Degree programmes at the St. Augustine Campus.

 

CARINDEX

A multidisciplinary database which provides bibliographic information on Caribbean resources.

 

 Caribbean Book Reviews

An index of scholarly book reviews published about Caribbean authors.

 

Please contact the staff at West Indiana and Special Collections for more information about these resources. Ph:868-662-2002-83361; email wimail@sta.uwi.edu.

 

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Databases

ADOLEC [Free]

A bibliographic database on adolescence health in Latin America and the Caribbean.

 

BBC Caribbean Archives [Free]

Audio archive of the BBC Caribbean programmes for the period 1988-2011.

 

BIREME [Free]

A virtual health library that provides access to a number of bibliographic databases and scientific magazines of health information sources in Latin America and the Caribbean.

 

Caribbean Digital Library [Free]

The resource managed by UNECLAC provides full text publications on or about the Caribbean.

 

Caribbean Literature [UWI Subscribed] 

A searchable collection of poetry and fiction produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries.

 

Caribbean Search by EBSCO host [UWI Subscribed]

A multidisciplinary database that provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles pertinent to the countries and people of the Caribbean region.

 

Caribbean Women Writers [Free]

A bibliographic database of short stories written by women in the Caribbean, whether French, Spanish or English.

 

CARIBLEX – [Free]

Database of Caribbean labour legislation.

 

CERIS [Free]

Caribbean Education research Information Service provides access to fulltext and bibliographic descriptions on Education in the Caribbean.

 

DESASTRES  [Free]

A database of the Disaster Documentation Center Collection.

 

Digital Library of Trinidad and Tobago [Free]

A fulltext database of images, articles, and special collections held at the National Library and Information System of Trinidad and Tobago.

 

Directory of Agricultural Libraries [Free]

Directory of Agricultural libraries in the Caribbean

 

DLOC [Free]

Digital Library of the Caribbean provides access to full text documents including several Caribbean newspapers.

 

European views of the Americas [UWI Subscribed]

A bibliographic database for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas.

 

HISA BIREME: [Free]

Database on the history of public health in the Latin America and the Caribbean

 

Jamaica Gleaner Archives [UWI Subscribed]

The newspaper archives from 19th century to present.

 

Laws of Trinidad and Tobago [UWI Subscribed]

 

LEYES - BIREME: [Free]

A bibliographic database on Health Legislation.

 

LILACS [Free]

A bibliographic database on Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences.

 

MEDCARIB [Free]

A bibliographic database on Caribbean Health Sciences literature.

 

MORD [Free]

Mona Research Database: A database which highlights the research output of the Mona Campus.

 

Special Collections Finding Aids[Free]

Guides and inventories for the special collections and manuscript materials held at the St. Augustine Campus.

 

Trinidad and Tobago Gazette

 

UWISPace [Free]

The Digital Library of the Campuses of the University of the West Indies.

 

West Indian Reports [UWI Subscribed]

 West Indian Reports includes an archive of over 3,500 cases decided in the High Courts and Courts of Appeal of the West Indian States, and Privy Council appeals therefrom.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip