Skip to main content

EndNote X6: EndNote

Resources for using EndNote X6

About this page

This page provides links to resources for using EndNote X6.

About using EndNote X6?

EndNote is a commercial software for managing references when writing projects, articles and theses. It is produced by Thomson Reuters.

The University of the West Indies has purchased a university-wide license for staff and students. The current version acquired is Endnote X6 for Windows (released 6 August 2012).

The LAN administrator for your faculty can install it on your laptop.

Kindly remember that the final output (in-text citations and list of references) depends on the data that you have entered into the EndNote software. Review entries (whether manual or downloaded from a database or other online service) for spelling errors, incomplete or incorrect data or data entered into wrong fields or resource formats. 

 

What does EndNote do?

EndNote allows you to:

  • Maintain a personal database of references
  • Download references from bibliographic databases and  Google Scholar
  • Use the EndNote database to insert references in MS Word-processed documents
  • Create a bibliography/subject bibliography in MS Word
  • Change references into different citation styles easily

See video on starting your research with EndNote.

Referencing styles at FFA and FST

You are responsible for the final content of your in-text citations and references. It is recommended that you get familiar with your citation/referencing style so that you may edit the software output accordingly.

According the UWI Thesis Guide, Chicago Manual of Style 16th ed. Author-Date Format is the citation style to be used by the Faculty of Food and Agriculture and the Faculty of Science and Technology.

However, students in the Department of Chemistry must use the American Chemical Society (ACS)  citation style.

Students who are doing the Occupational Enviornmental Health and Safety (OESH) Porgramme, though based in the Department of Chemistry are required to do Chicago Manual of Style 16th ed. Author-Date Format.

Click here for info on the Chicago Manual of Style 16th ed. Author-Date Format

Click here for info on the ACS Style

 

Updates for EndNote X6

Latest update as at Nov 23, 2013

X6.0.1 FOR WINDOWS (RELEASED 7 NOV 2012)

  • In EndNote, click “Help” and choose “EndNote Program Updates”.  \
  • -OR-
  • Download the Update (Note: this is a .zip file that contains the .msp patch installer).  
    Double-click the MSP file to begin the update.

For more newer updates check http://endnote.com/downloads/available-updates

Head, User Services

Shamin Renwick
Contact:
Head, User Services,

Alma Jordan Library, UWI, St. Augustine, Trinidad and Tobago


E-Mail: shamin.renwick@sta.uwi.edu
+1-868-662-2002 ext 82261
Skype Contact
Subjects:Agriculture