Predatory? Journal Evaluation Resources for The Medical Sciences (UWISTA): PRIMARY RESOURCES

​CABELL'S PREDATORY REPORTS

ACCESS INFORMATION:

• On-campus via The Medical Sciences Library's A-Z List of Electronic Resources
• Remotely: via the same link, using your staff ID and  password for login.

Cabell's  Predatory Reports  is a source for journal info, evaluation metrics, and submission details-for universities of any size. Real impact starts with finding the right audience. The Campus Libraries have access to the Blacklist. Works best with Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge and Mozilla Firefox

====o\/o====  Author's Note ====o\/o====

• This resource may not capture all non-Western peer-reviewed publications so further checks of other resources are necessary.
• Be sure to note the last date of revision of journal violations and do the necessary follow-up checks if revisions are not current.

This guide provides a toolkit to help researchers identify potential predatory journals and publishers. The responsibility for deciding where to publish ultimately lies with the researcher/author. Do seek out the faculty's liaison librarian if you need additional guidance on predatory publishing practices, however any final determinations about the legitimacy of a journal or publisher must be made by individual researchers. 

​ ULRICHSWEB GLOBAL SERIALS DIRECTORY

ACCESS INFORMATION: 

• On-campus via The Medical Sciences Library's A-Z List of Electronic Resources
• Remotely: via the same link, using your staff ID and  password for login.

This is a bibliographic database which provides detailed, comprehensive, and authoritative information on serials published throughout the world. It covers all subjects, and includes publications that are published regularly or irregularly and are circulated free of charge or by paid subscription.

====o\/o====  Author's Note ====o\/o====

• It has been noted that a few publications from suspected predatory publishers are showing up in this resource so cross-checking other resources is necessary, as well as  fact-checking the journal, its editorial process, digital archiving policy, etc.

​DOAJ

ACCESS INFORMATION: 

• On-campus via The Medical Sciences Library's A-Z List of Electronic Resources
• Remotely: via the same link, no login requires, this is an Internet website

The Directory of Open Access Journals DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. It is a useful tool for verifying the legitimacy of scholarly open-access                          publications. ACCESS: https://doaj.org/

====o\/o====  Author's Note ====o\/o====

• The DOAJ is a free high-quality online directory with strict quality control methods to block potential predatory journals from slipping by the application process. It hosts 15000+ journals.
• The DOAJ publishes a list of journals added and withdrawn: click here for access   

JOURNAL CITATION REPORTS

ACCESS INFORMATION: 

• On-campus via The Medical Sciences Library's A-Z List of Electronic Resources
• Remotely: via the same link, using your staff ID and  password for login.

Journal Citation Reports - Social Sciences Edition (JCR) contains bibliometric analysis of over 1,400 journals in the social sciences and shows the relative importance of titles within their subject area. The Science Edition provides quantifiable statistical data that evaluates over 6100 leading international science journals illustrating their impact and influence in the global research. Users can sort data by defined fields such as impact factor, total cites, total articles, etc. JCR ranks journals by the frequency by which they have been cited and by their half life period.

====o\/o====  Author's Note ====o\/o====

• Predatory journals are often assigned inflated, fake impact factors, or none at all. Use Journal Citation Reports (JCR), available through Web of Science to get this essential metric. Bear in mind that JCR does not capture the entire universe of published journals. Non-western journal titles in particular would have to be crossed-checked.
• All journals listed in the JCR are legitimate and all have impact factors. Do note however, that many peer-reviewed, reputable, journals are not listed in JCR.

Clarivate Analytics’ 
Master Journal List 

Clarivate Analytics’ Master Journal List is a free searchable database of journals in the Core Collection of Web of Science, including the Impact Factor database.

Enago is a leading global editing and publication support company that is also the patron sponsor of Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ). Enago's  Open Access Journal Finder (OAJF) uses the DOAJ to help researchers locate quality, peer-reviewed open-access journals. OAJF  is  AI technology-driven and displays vital journal details, allowing researchers to filter results based on different parameters. Its security features ensure that any manuscript information entered is not saved or retained by OAJF.

 JOURNALS IN NCBI DATABASES

ACCESS INFORMATION:

• On-campus via PubMed on the Medical Sciences Library's A-Z List of Electronic Resources
• Remotely: via the same link, no login requires, this is an Internet website

====o\/o====  Author's Note ====o\/o====

• Medical researchers often argue the validity of PubMed as a credentialing system of sorts to justify the authenticity of their published work. However, it has been noted that publications from suspected predatory publishers are showing up in this resource so cross-checking is necessary, as well as  fact-checking the journal, its editorial process, digital archiving policy, etc.
• When viewing the records for the Journals in NCBI Databases link, note that the indexing status of legitimate and reputable journals would read: Currently indexed for MEDLINE.
• See this libguide for easy ways of navigating away from the predatory resources in Pubmed.

​SCOPUS PREVIEW

• ACCESS INFORMATION: This is a free, publicly available Internet website.

Scopus Preview Free Journal Rankings and Metrics offers free metrics to non-subscribers.

====o\/o====  Author's Note ====o\/o====

• The UWI does not subscribe to Scopus. However non-subscribers can create a profile on the website and access free journal metrics and rankings.