Skip to main content

Information Resources for the Clinical Programme, UWI FMS St. Augustine: Citation and References

This libguide was prepared for students and staff of the UWI, FMS, St Augustine, MBBS Clinical Programme. It provides information about the services of the Medical Sciences Library that are accessible to Users away from the campus as well as the resources

CITATION AND REFERENCING

Citation and Referencing

Citation and Referencing relate to academic integrity.  Understanding how to cite works which you have used, gives credit to the sources of information and helps you to avoid plagiarism.

 

Some resources on plagiarism

VANCOUVER STYLE

Vancouver Style is the preferred style of the Faculty of Medical Sciences.

Some disciplines however use the American Psychological Association (APA) Style.

By citing and referencing the material consulted for a piece of academic work you not only enable others to verify facts ideas in your work more easily, but you will also be acting in an ethical and honest manner.

Acknowledgement may be in the form of  in text citations, footnotes, endnotes and/or a bibliography.

Different citing and referencing styles cater for the specific requirements of different disciplines.

Vancouver is a numbered referencing style commonly used in medicine and science, and consists of:

  • citations to someone else's work in the text,      indicated by the use of a number
  • a      sequentially numbered reference list at the end of the document providing      full details of the corresponding in-text reference

It follows rules established by the International committee of Medical Journal Editors, now maintained by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. It is also known as Uniform Requirements for Manuscripts submitted to Biomedical Journals.

Sourcehttp://guides.lib.monash.edu/citing-referencing/vancouver

 

SEE THE FOLLOWING LINKS BELOW FOR GUIDANCE:

In-text Citation  - http://guides.lib.monash.edu/citing-referencing/vancouver-intext 

Examples of formatted references for authors of journal articles    - https://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/uniform_requirements.html    

The NLM Style Guide for Authors, Editors, and Publishers -  http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK7256/?amp=&depth=2

 

APA STYLE -  SEE THE FOLLOWING LINK BELOW FOR GUIDANCE ON APA:

Source:http://web.calstatela.edu/library/guides/3apa.pdf


     

MANAGING YOUR REFERENCES

You can easily manage your bibliographies by using a Bibliographic Management Software.

Bibliographic Management Software helps you to:

 

  • manage your bibliographic references by entering manually or importing your references from online sources
  • generate bibliographies or lists of references in the desired format
  • insert citations into a paper consistently and easily

 

Some popular Bibliographich Management Software are EndNote   Reference Manager   -   ProCite.

The MSL has EndNote version x7 installed on computers in the library

NEED HELP? AskALibrarian, Call, or E-mail us

AskALibrarian

Information desk contact

Information Desk contact number:

645-3232- Ext 5201

 
 

 Contact the authors

Marilyn.Drayton-Andrews@sta.uwi.edu

Librarian, Acquisitions / Serials Unit,

Tel: 645 3232 Ext 5218 

 

Marilyn.Lewis@sta.uwi.edu

Librarian, Reference and Loans Unit

Tel: 645 3232 Ext 5244