Skip to main content

Information Resources for the Clinical Programme, UWI FMS St. Augustine: Access to Databases

This libguide was prepared for students and staff of the UWI, FMS, St Augustine, MBBS Clinical Programme. It provides information about the services of the Medical Sciences Library that are accessible to Users away from the campus as well as the resources

MEDICAL DATABASES

QUICK LINKS:

Point-of-care Databases: (UWI authentication required)

UpToDate  

MicroMedex  

Dynamed (Login: Health / P'word:Trinidad)

 

General Medical Databases and Other Resources:

BIOMED CENTRAL

MEDSCAPE

PUBMED

PUBMED CLINICAL QUERIES

SCIENCE DIRECT

WEB OF KNOWLEDGE - ISI

SELECTED MEDICAL DATABASES

Note: Off Campus Access

Due to terms and conditions in licensing agreements, access to certain databases, are restricted to registered students, current faculty and staff of the University of the West Indies.  You will be required to authenticate using your UWI login credentials to gain off campus access to the databases while you are away from the campus. Remember to authenticate at your UWIlinC address below, if you have not done so already.

Authenticate at  http://uwin-primo.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/primo_library/libweb/action/search.do?vid=STA&  using "Sign in" at top right of page.

 

A-Z Listing of Databases: The University of the West Indies St Augustine Campus Libraries currently holds a number of subscribed as well as free databases.   The A-Z Listing of Databases can then be searched at the link below:

https://libraries.sta.uwi.edu/apps/index.php/DatabaseSearch/index

 

 SELECTED MEDICAL DATABASES:         

ALT HEALTHWATCH - EBSCOHOST    This online resource provides coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. It provides full text to journals, reports and proceedings, and consumer newsletters dating back to 1990.


BIOLINE INTERNATIONAL;   Bioline International is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries. BI's aims at increasing the global understanding of health (tropical medicine, infectious diseases), biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development.


BIOMED CENTRAL     An online database from an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.


BIREME     A virtual health library which provides access to a number of bibliographic databases and scientific magazines of health information sources in Latin America and the Caribbean.


COCHRANE VHL     A collection of evidence-based healthcare resources in the VHL, which includes the complete English version of the Cochrane Library, the complete version of the Cochrane Library Plus produced by the Iberoamerican Cochrane Network , including Spanish contents, and the database of abstracts of the Cochrane Systematic Reviews translated to Portuguese produced by the Brazilian Cochrane Centre.


FAMILY HEALTH - PROQUEST     This database includes journals and magazines covering an enormous range of health subjects, from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.


HEALTH AND MEDICAL COMPLETE - PROQUEST    This database offers reliable, comprehensive journal coverage of clinical and biomedical topics, consumer health, health administration and more.


HEALTH MANAGEMENT - PROQUEST      This database is a collection of reliable and relevant resources in the field of health administration, including journals and dissertations.


INFORMATION & KNOWLEDGE FOR OPTIMAL HEALTH (INFO) PROJECT   The Johns Hopkins INFO Project's new One Source database provides one-stop access to over 390,000 resources and six separate databases with a single mouse click or search term.


INFORMAWORLD      InformaworldTM is a one-stop site hosting journals, eBooks, abstract databases and reference works published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare.


INTERNATIONAL PHARMACEUTICAL ABSTRACTS - EBSCOHOST    International Pharmaceutical Abstracts is produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and includes information from over 750 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals published worldwide.


MEDCARIB - BIREME     A bibliographic database on Caribbean Health Sciences literature.


MEDLINE (EBSCO)    This National Library of Medicine bibliographic online database provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.


MICROMEDEX® Healthcare Series    The MICROMEDEX® Healthcare Series of databases is primarily a drug information system and is considered one of the most authoritative resources available.The databases available includes the following: DRUGDEX, DRUG-REAX and Martindale.


PUBMED - NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE   A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.


SAGE JOURNALS ONLINE   Sage Journals Online provides access to numerous journals in four primary topics and their corresponding disciplines - Health; Materials Science and Engineering; Life and Biomedical Sciences and Social Sciences and Humanities. Full text access is available to subscribed content only. Abstracts for all other content can be viewed.


SCIENCE DIRECT   A gateway that provides access to journals in science, technology and medicine subscribed by the Campus Libraries. Searches can be limited to subscribed or unsubscribed journals.


THIEME E-JOURNALS    Thieme E-Journals platform provides access to subscribed Thieme e-journals.


TOXNET    A collection of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.


UPTODATE    UpToDate® is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 4,800 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Supported by UpToDate's 45 in-house physician editors, these authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence.


WEB OF KNOWLEDGE - ISI    This resource is an integrated research platform and features such databases as: •Science Citation Index; •Expanded - Web of Science; •Journal Citation Reports Science Citation Edition; •Essential Science Indicators and ISIHighlighted.com See user's guide . View recorded training .


WILEY ONLINE LIBRARY    Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.


 GENERAL DATABASES:

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE – EBSCOHOST   

CARIBBEAN SEARCH - EBSCO   

DOAJ (DIRECTORY OF OPEN ACCESS JOURNALS)   

EBSCOHOST   

EBSCOHOST ELECTRONIC JOURNALS SERVICE (EJS)   

PROQUEST CENTRAL   

PUBLIC LIBRARY OF SCIENCE (PLoS)   

VIOLENCE & ABUSE ABSTRACTS   

NEED HELP? AskALibrarian, Call, or E-mail us

AskALibrarian

 

 

Information Desk contact

Information Desk contact number:

645-3232- Ext 5201



Contact the authors

Marilyn.Drayton-Andrews@sta.uwi.edu

Librarian, Acquisitions / Serials Unit,

Tel: 645 3232 Ext 5218 

 

Marilyn.Lewis@sta.uwi.edu

Librarian, Reference and Loans Unit

Tel: 645 3232 Ext 5244