Skip to main content

UWIlinC: Databases

UWIlinC is the e-information portal for the UWI Libraries which allows search and discovery from a single interface

Searching for Databases

The All Databases tab displays all of the databases to which your institution has subscribed. If you would like to search for specific databases, fill in the relevant fields on the upper section of the lightbox and then click the Find Databases button. To display the results, click the Databases Results tab.To select databases for UWIlinC searches, see Selecting Databases below.

Selecting Databases

You can select databases from either the All Databases tab or the Databases Results tab (if you have performed a search). Databases that are marked as restricted cannot be searched, but can be linked to directly. Because some of the restrictions are due to authorization, it is recommended that you sign in.To select databases, select the check box next to each database that you want to include in UWIlinC searches. You will need to select this search scope to search the selected databases.

Viewing Database Search Results

The Databases Results tab contains a list of all the databases that match the criteria you specified in the database search.

Viewing Selected Databases

The Selected Databases tab displays a list of all the databases that you have selected from either the All Databases tab or the Databases Results tab.

Using Find Databases

The Find Databases option enables you to search for specific remote databases and include these databases in UWIlinC searches.

To display the Find Databases lightbox, click the Find Databases link, which appears at the top of each page and to the right of the Search Scope drop-down list on the Advanced Search page.

From this lightbox, you can perform the following actions

  • Searching for Databases
  • Selecting Databases
  • Viewing Database Search Results
  • Viewing Selected Databases

How do I search multiple databases?

To select databases, click the check box next to each database that you want to include in UWIlinC searches. As you select a database, it is added to the list of databases on the Selected Databases tab. Databases that are marked as restricted cannot be searched, but can be linked to directly. When you have completed your selections, click the Selection Completed button to exit the lightbox and to update the Selected Databases search scope.