Skip to main content

The PhD & Library Scrutiny: Style Manuals

Tools and tips offered towards understanding the Library's role in the PhD thesis process at the UWI St Augustine Campus

Library Scrutiny

The Libraries’ scrutiny of theses is intended to ensure that students comply with the requirements of the Thesis Guide in relation to format, arrangement, abstract,  references and bibliography. The Libraries seek to ensure an awareness of the discipline involved in preparing scholarly publications in a consistent style. The Libraries certify the thesis as acceptable when they are satisfied that the thesis complies with the requirements of the Thesis Guide and recommended style manuals. This process should be completed with in 30 days.

Style Manuals

The Libraries’ scrutiny of theses is intended to ensure that students comply with the requirements of the Thesis Guide in relation to format, arrangement, abstract, references and bibliography. The Libraries seek to ensure an awareness of the discipline involved in preparing scholarly publications in a consistent style and complies with the requirements of the Thesis Guide and recommended style manuals.

 The University of the West Indies: Recommended Style Manuals

Some of these hyperlinks are to campus resources, you may need to be on Campus or may have to log into the Campus Libraries Network in order to access these manuals. *Please consult your Librarian for guidance.

 

Agriculture | Natural Sciences | Engineering | Social Sciences | *Law

Book Cover

a) The Chicago Manual of Style. Chicago: University of Chicago Press. 16th edition. This guide ensures stylistic consistencies in scholarly works, especially used in the humanities and social sciences

Book Cover

b) The Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation. Mass., Cambridge: Columbia Law Review, The Harvard Law Review, The University of Pennsylvania Law Review, and The Yale Law Journal. The standard legal citation form guide for law students and other legal professionals.

Natural Sciences

Book Cover

a) The ACS Style Guide: A manual for authors and editors. Janet S Dodd, Editor. Washington: American Chemical Society, 1997. Developed by the American Chemical Society, this style may be used for research papers in the field of chemistry

 Book Cover

b) AIP Style Manual for Physicists. New York: American Institute of Physics. 1990-97. For guidance in writing, editing, and preparing physics manuscripts for publication.

Arts | Education | *Humanities |*Medical Sciences

Book Cover 

a) MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing, 3rd ed. 2008. It provides invaluable advice from beginning to end on how to research a topic and write it up and sets the standard for postgraduate students in the Humanities on how to cite sources.

Book Cover

b) A Manual for writers of term papers, theses and dissertations. Kate L. Turabian. Chicago: University of Chicago. 7th edition. Offers detailed guidance to authors of research papers - term papers, theses and dissertations includes information on format, mechanics of style, documentation and sample layouts.

Book Cover

c) Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Washington : APA. 6th edition. Specifically designed to help writers in the behavioural sciences and social sciences, it is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators on APA rules and regulations.

Medical Sciences 

 icmje logo

a) Uniform requirements for manuscripts submitted to biomedical journals. International Committee of Medical Journal Editors. These requirements for manuscripts, including formats for bibliographic references developed by the National Library of Medicine in Vancouver, and is sometimes referred to as the Vancouver Group.

Book Cover

b) The Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors. Oxford: Oxford University Press. Latest edition.[1992] This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and all who work in scientific publishing with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information.

 

Citation Management Software

Citation Management Software

This lists provides links to tutorials for some of the more popular tools used to manage references.

 

DISCLAIMER: This listing does not provide an endorsement of any one tool over the other. Knowledge of the specific style in use is essential!