Skip to main content

Open Access Publishing and Scholarly Communication: Resources

OAIster

 

Search for millions of open access articles and materials on any topic worldwide through OCLC's open access interface, OAIster (or Open Archives Initiative)

OASIS

OASIS aims to provide an authoritative ‘sourcebook’ on Open Access, covering the concept, principles, advantages, approaches and means to achieving it. The site highlights developments and initiatives from around the world, with links to diverse additional resources and case studies.

OpenDOAR

OpenDOAR is an authoritative directory of academic open access repositories. Each OpenDOAR repository has been visited by project staff to check the information that is recorded here. This in-depth approach does not rely on automated analysis and gives a quality-controlled list of repositories

Open Access Books

Online Books Page

Hosted by the University of Pennsylvania, this site includes over 40,000 full-text books, arranged by LC classification. Books included generally are: 1) not copyrighted under the Berne Convention, 2) out of copyright, 3) posted with permission for non-commercial use, or 4) posted as part of existing licensing provision.

OAPEN

European network of open access books.

Open Access Journals

Acess peer-reviewed journals in all subjects at the Directory of Open Access Journals site.

 

Multimedia Collections

Explore digital collections around the world and investigate exciting opportunities for research in the Global Gateway at the Library of Congress. Includes also multimedia such as webcasts and selected videos.

World Digital Library

This resource from the United Nations Educational and Cultural Organization contains primary materials from every continent. Includes books, journals, maps, photographs, art, and multimedia in history, geography, religion, art, natural sciences, mathematics, technology, literature, philosophy and more.
 

Visit the Prelinger Archives where two-thirds of the films listed are available for free download via the Internet Archive.

Web of Knowledge

Web of Knowledge

Search Web of KnowledgeSM

If you have difficulty, please login to the full database.

Useful Articles

Read Barbara Fister's article in Inside Higher Ed: Open to Change: How Open Access Can Work

David Lewis has made a budgetary argument for open access: Library Budgets, Open Access, and the Future of Scholarly Communication

Open Access Publishing in Science in Communications of the ACM

A Library Journal article about the funding of open access