Skip to main content

Faculty Resources and Services at the Medical Sciences Library: ONLINE DATABASES

This Libguide is designed to strengthen liaisons and linkages between the Faculty of Medical Sciences and the Medical Sciences Library.

JOURNALS (PRINT & ONLINE)

Click the pdf icon below to access the most recent     MSL journal listing.

ONLINE DATABASES

Researchers can access over 120 online databases subscribed to by the UWI Campus Libraries. Currently there are 43 subscribed medical sciences databases which you can immediately view on this page.

Many of these databases contain full-text material.

In instances where the full text of an article is not available online, it can be ordered and all relevant costs are absorbed by the Library.

DATABASE ACCESS :on and off-campus

ON CAMPUS

Access subscribed databases from any computer workstation connected to the University's local area network

 i.e. in the Library, Computer Labs, Faculty offices etc.

 

OFF CAMPUS

Access using the ISP (Internet Service Provider) of your choice.

You will be required to enter your

UWI St. Augustine username and password.

For example:

user name: 06784009 (staff id)

default password: YYYYMMDD

 

ACCESS PROBLEMS

 Contact the FMS ICT Unit: http://sta.uwi.edu/fms/ICT.asp

 Mr. Colin Knight (Unit Head)

IT Officer

Email: Colin.Knight@sta.uwi.edu

Tel/ext: (868) 645-2640 Ext 2842

 

MEDICAL SCIENCES DATABASES

ADOLEC - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on adolescence health in Latin America and the Caribbean.



ALT HEALTHWATCH - EBSCOHOST  

This online resource provides coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. It provides full text to journals, reports and proceedings, and consumer newsletters dating back to 1990.



AMERICAN PHYSIOLOGICAL SOCIETY (APS) CLASSIC PAPERS  

Includes classic articles that have proved vital to the discipline of physiology and the evolution of modern-day medicine. Also includes introductory essays, and the complete 1st editions of the American Physiological Society journals.



BBO - BIREME  

A Brazilian bibliographic database on Dentistry.



BDENF - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on nursing



BIOETHICS - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on the Regional Program on Bioethics sponsored by the Pan American Health Organization and World Health Organization



BIOLINE INTERNATIONAL   
Bioline International is a not-for-profit scholarly publishing cooperative committed to providing open access to quality research journals published in developing countries. BI's aims at increasing the global understanding of health (tropical medicine, infectious diseases), biodiversity, the environment, conservation and international development.



BIOLOGICAL ABSTRACTS - EBSCOHOST  

Bibliographic references to life science journal literature published internationally.



BIOMED CENTRAL  

An online database from an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.



BIREME  

A virtual health library which provides access to a number of bibliographic databases and scientific magazines of health information sources in Latin America and the Caribbean.



CAB ABSTRACTS - EBSCOHOST  

A bibliographic database published by CAB International that contains abstracts covering international research in the applied life sciences from 1973 to present. Access is limited to five concurrent users.



CIRRIE DATABASE OF INTERNATIONAL REHABILITATION RESEARCH  
The CIRRIE Database collects citations from all areas of rehabilitation and compiles them into one central source. Over 5000 journals are represented in the Database and abstracts are available for most citations. There are over 85,000 citations currently indexed with citations added monthly.



COCHRANE LIBRARY  

A bibliographic evidence-based healthcare database.



EVIDENCE BASED MEDICINE REVIEWS (EBMR)  
A definitive resource for electronic information in the evidence based medicine (EBM) movement that combines seven (7) of the most trusted EBM resources into a single, fully-searchable database. EBMR through a combination of resources provides: systematic reviews of topics; article reviews; and access to definitive controlled trials.



EVIDENCE DATABASE ON AGING  
The evidence database contains published studies and articles that inform and advance policy discussions regarding aging care and the role of social workers.



FACULTY OF 1000 BIOLOGY  

Faculty of 1000 Biology is the next generation literature awareness tool - it provides scientists with a continuously updated insider's guide to the most important papers within any given field of research and highlights papers on the basis of their scientific merit rather than the journal in which they appear . It is a revolutionary new online research service that will comprehensively and systematically highlight and review the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 1000 selected leading researchers.



HISA - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on the Latin American and Caribbean history of public heatlh.



HOMEOINDEX - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on homeopathy.



INFORMATION & KNOWLEDGE FOR OPTIMAL HEALTH (INFO) PROJECT  

The Johns Hopkins INFO Project's new One Source database provides one-stop access to over 390,000 resources and six separate databases with a single mouse click or search term.



INFORMAWORLD  

InformaworldTM is a one-stop site hosting journals, eBooks, abstract databases and reference works published by Taylor & Francis, Routledge, Psychology Press and Informa Healthcare.



INTERNATIONAL PHARMACEUTICAL ABSTRACTS - EBSCOHOST  

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts is produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and includes information from over 750 pharmaceutical, medical, and health-related journals published worldwide.



LEYES - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on Latin American and Caribbean Basic health legislation.



LILACS - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on Latin American and Caribbean Health Sciences



MEDCARIB - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on Caribbean Health Sciences literature.



MEDLINE - BIREME (1966-1996 )  

A bibliographic database on international medical literature.



MEDLINE - BIREME (1996- 2006 )  

A bibliographic database on international medical literature.



MEDLINE - OCLC  

An online database that covers all areas of medicine, including dentistry and nursing, with full text access. See user's guide .



MEDLINE (EBSCO)  

This National Library of Medicine bibliographic online database provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more.



MICROMEDEX® Healthcare Series  
The MICROMEDEX® Healthcare Series of databases is primarily a drug information system and is considered one of the most authoritative resources available.The databases available includes the following: DRUGDEX, DRUG-REAX and Martindale.



OVID MEDLINE  
Medline is a premier, comprehensive biomedical database from one of the leading sources of medical and healthcare. MEDLINE on OvidSP offers you seamless and up-to-the-minute access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from more than 3,900 biomedical journals published in more than 70 countries.



OVIDSP  

OvidSP's is a powerful searching tool which gives access to leading scientific, technical and medical databases.



PAHO - BIREME  

Pan American Health Organisation Headquarters Library Catalog.



PsycARTICLES - EBSCOHOST  

This database provides full text articles on current issues in psychology from respected sources, spanning from 1987 to the present. All journals included in this database are indexed in PsycINFO.



PsycINFO - EBSCOHOST  

A bibliographic database that contains summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, in the field of psychology. Journal coverage, dates back to the 1800s, includes international material selected from periodicals in over 35 languages.



PUBMED - NATIONAL LIBRARY OF MEDICINE  

A service of the National Library of Medicine, includes over 15 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.



REPIDISCA - BIREME  

A bibliographic database on Sanitary Engineering and Environmental Sciences.



SCIENCE DIRECT  

A gateway that provides access to journals in science, technology and medicine subscribed by the Campus Libraries. Searches can be limited to subscribed or unsubscribed journals.



SeCS - BIREME  

Collections of BIREME serials in Health Sciences



TOXNET  

A collection of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.



UPTODATE  

UpToDate® is an evidence-based knowledge system authored by physicians to help clinicians make the right decisions at the point of care. All UpToDate content is written and edited by a global community of 4,800 physicians, world-renowned experts in their specialties. Supported by UpToDate's 45 in-house physician editors, these authors follow a rigorous editorial process, continually reviewing the content to ensure it is of the highest quality and based on the latest evidence.



WEB OF KNOWLEDGE - ISI  

This resource is an integrated research platform and features such databases as: •Science Citation Index; •Expanded - Web of Science; •Journal Citation Reports Science Citation Edition; •Essential Science Indicators and ISIHighlighted.com See user's guide . View recorded training .



WHOLIS - BIREME  

The World Health Organization Library Information System.



WILEY ONLINE LIBRARY  

Wiley Online Library hosts a multidisciplinary collection of online resources covering life, health and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities. It delivers seamless integrated access to over 4 million articles from 1500 journals, 9000 books, and hundreds of reference works, laboratory protocols and databases.