Skip to main content

Humanities Division: Chicago

This guide is directed at students and staff in the various Humanities departments in the Faculty of Humanities & Education. Citing, MLA, Plagiarism, Evaluating sources

Chicago Style 16th ed.

Chicago Style Manua

REF Z253 U69 2010

Chicago Style 16th ed. Humanities

Chicago Citation Style

Chicago offers two distinct citation styles: Author/Date (AD) and Notes/Bibliography (NB). This guide focuses on the NB system, which is primarily used in the Humanities. The Chicago Style is mostly interchangeable with Turabian, a modified version of this style.

Chicago Style: Humanities

Notes/Bibliography - numbered footnotes or endnotes at the bottom of each page, with a Bibliography at the end of the paper, listing alphabetically the sources in your notes. "If the bibliography includes all works cited in the notes, the notes need not duplicate the source information in full because readers can consult the bibliography for publication details and other information. In works with no bibliography or only a selected list, full details must be given in a note at first mention of any work cited; subsequent citations need only include a short form". Chicago Manual 16th ed.

Sample List of Entries

Chicago has a different format for footnotes and bibliographic entries. Below are formats for both types of citation, with "N" indicating an example for a footnote and "B" indicating an example of a bibliographic entry. For citation-styles of genres not included here, please see the Chicago Manual of Style, 16th ed.

N/BCitation ExamplesType of Citation
N

William H. Rehnquist, The Supreme Court: A History (New York: Knopf, 2001), 204.

Book
B

Rehnquist, William H. The Supreme Court: A History. New York: Knopf, 2001.

 

Subject Guide

Chicago: Notes & Bibliography: Sample Bibliography

Chicago: Notes & Bibliography-IN TEXT CITATIONS

Chicago Style 16th ed. Sample Paper